A Medieval C.S.I.

image

*****
Season of Ravens.
By Denise Domning

I was lucky enough to be asked by Denise to review this for her. That does not colour my opinion.

This is a historical mystery set in the year 1194.
We start with a murderer displaying his victim. This made me sit up and take notice straight away, because it was obviously not his first.
Then we move on to our hero, Sir Faucon de Ramis. He has been summoned to see his uncle Bishop William. He discovers the reason for his summons is  an offer of a very interesting job with good benefits.  (A little too good to be believed )  He is to be the Keeper of the Pleas.  The locals will come to call him Sir Crowner.
It’s a very complicated job, more or less he is there to keep everyone even the Sheriff honest.
Before he has chance to settle in there is a death to investigate. His Clark is a monk from a local priory. This monk is very opinionated and Faucon is near to killing him after less than a day. I will not tell you about the investigation because that might spoil it. Suffice to say nothing is as it seems.
I don’t know If what the author tells us is how things were done in that time, but she made it very believable. There is plenty of intrigue and a few laughs. With the teaser for the next book, but still giving us an ending for this one. I for one will be begging for the following story. The characters are strong and fit their roles perfectly. I did think I spotted a murderer quite early but I was wrong. (I think) .

About petulawinmill

i am a reader only. I love Historical and paranormal romance . I am English but have lived in Spain for the last 26yrs . Because it was difficult to get books In English when I first came here I am a bit behind on some of the authors. Sincé my wonderful son bought me a kindle I have been trying to catch up. I have been married for ·39yrs and have one son who is 24.You will also have to forgive me if I don´t do things properly, We didn´t have computers at my school. . I have been busy working until recently and not had time to learn all the things that the kids can do so easily now.

Posted on January 31, 2014, in historical romance, Thrillers / Crime and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

