The Personification of Arrogance.

image

         The Sherbrooke Bride.
         By Catherine Coulter.
                  ****
A very good historical romance, with all the adventure ,humour  and emotion you could want.

Douglas has decided it is time for him to marry and get an heir. He remembers a beautiful young woman he met three years ago. Mellisande is such a beauty , she is perfect for him.
When Mellisande and her sister Alexandra met Douglas it was Alex who fell for him, but the wedding of Douglas and Mellisande is arranged. As he is about to go and get his bride he is called away on urgent business, so he asks his cousin Tony to marry Mellisande by proxy for him.
When Douglas arrives home he finds himself married to the wrong woman. To say he is furious is an under statement. 
He has been cheated out of his beautiful wife and got her sister instead. She is not at all what he wants, he will annul the marriage.
Alex wants desperately to be his wife, but he is obsessed with her sister.

Douglas is so arrogant and cruel I wanted to batter him. Although I felt sorry for Alex sometimes, she has more than enough strength to handle him. There are some very emotional parts in this, but a lot of humour as well.
The secondary  characters involved in this story are entertaining, and I look forward to reading their stories. 

About petulawinmill

i am a reader only. I love Historical and paranormal romance . I am English but have lived in Spain for the last 26yrs . Because it was difficult to get books In English when I first came here I am a bit behind on some of the authors. Sincé my wonderful son bought me a kindle I have been trying to catch up. I have been married for ·39yrs and have one son who is 24.You will also have to forgive me if I don´t do things properly, We didn´t have computers at my school. . I have been busy working until recently and not had time to learn all the things that the kids can do so easily now.

Posted on March 16, 2014, in historical romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

